My "little" BACH-BOOK~for A Solitary Basoonist~J.S.BACH/R.Nakagawa

(#1) Allemande,BWV-1013/1 (#2)Corrente,BWV-1013/2 (#3)Sarabande,BWV-1013/3 (#4)Bourr'ee Anglaise,BWV-1013/4 (#5)Menuet(1),BWV-1006/4 (#6)Sinfonia,Cantata#156,BWV-1052/2 (#7)Arie,BWV-1068/2 (#8)Andante,BWV-1003/2 (#9)Andante,BWV-826/1:The Mid-Section (#10)Sarabande,BWV-1007/4 (#11)Gavotta,BWV-1006/3:not en Rondeau (#12)Prelude,BWV-1012/1


to this page top

Appendix(1)The 9 Bars from the Canatata#147

Appendix(2)Continuo-Parts:for #6,#7,#8,#9


Bassoon Music Reviews from International Double Reed Society.
Ronald Klimko
"My"little"BACH-BOOK for A Solitary Bassoonist" arranged by Ryohei Nakagawa
Sugihara Shoten CO.,Inc.(Pipers Magazine)

What a pleasure it is to review this wonderful new publication by Pipers Magazine of Japan.
It is a book of arrangements for bassoon of the most beautiful melodies of J.S.BACH by the distinguished Japanese bassoonist/arranger/conductor Ryohei Nakagawa. But, alas, the above does not even BEGIN to describe the delights of this lovely collection. The whole book is truly a work of art ! The entire design, illsutlations, and the music itself are in Nakagawa's own hand. It is full of wonderful little personal notes to the performer throughout. Moreover the music is also in the arranger's hand. Included in the music are some of BACH's most beautiful tunes beautifully edited, arranged and artistically rendered by this gifted artist. There are wonderful homilies included in the collection as well, such as the fact that one need not be forced to play any of the works thru entirely, but instead can fermata at a cadence anytime and take some time out, perhaps for a cup of tea !
Another essay notes that it is not necessary to be overly concerned if the music looks very black, because Baroque music often used the eighth note for one beat(as opposed to the quarter note in the Classic Romantic era, or the half note in Hollywood music of the 20th Century).
The book also has two Appendices : One is of the bass lines and continuo parts to the arranged works #6-9",.......Just in case you feel so lonesome and are not that much solitary person. The second is a delightful exercise playing 9 bars from Canatata #147, which Ryohei suggests one memorizes and play in all keys chromatically beginning low in E flat Major and ending high(too high!) in F major. Here he has carefully notated the venting for the middle register notes, or in his words"......the OCTAVE-EY-SYSTEM-PLAYING which I was given from the late Mr.Fredrick Moritz of the Los Angels Philharmonic......"with a "o" for the C key and a"+" for the A key. He also shows when to "lock" the whisper key down for low register playing. Of the last two versions in high E flat, E and F Major, he notes : "Do not even, try #25,26,and 27. They are just to be looked at. In case if you can play them , keep it to only yourself never tell it to anybodyelse especially composers You know why. Don't you ?"
This is truly a fun book to own and use. Lately I have kept it on my music stand for playing through(or at) when I want an enjoyable diversion, or often when I am testing a new reed out. I recommend it strongly as a MUST HAVE for every bassoonist, not only as a fun Etude book, but more importantly as a beautiful work of art !!


1. First, email your name, address, order number of items,and quantity to
2. We will send you the total price of your order, including the shipping charge. Please make payment through PayPal to our PayPal address at
3. As soon as we have confirmed your payment, we will ship your order and let you know by email.

*In order to make your payment, you must first register with PayPal. Please view the website for PayPal for instructions on how to register and make payments. If you are already registered with PayPal, email to


Sugihara Shoten Co.Inc./PIPERS Magazine
Daini Arakawa Bldg.2-1-1 Kyobashi, Chuo-ku, Tokyo
104-0031 JAPAN
Phone:+81-3-5205-3666 / FAX:+81-3-5205-3667

to this page top